Four Weeks and Two Days

I am officially four weeks and two days away from Africa!
It really hasn’t even set in yet that i’m doing to be there so soon.

Africa

So for those of you who don’t know the details yet I will be traveling to Africa for 12 weeks with Africa Conservation Experience.  This is my first blog post on here so I will break it down for you:

Care for Wild — 4 Weeks Nelspruit

At Care for Wild I will be doing just that; helping take care of injured or abandoned wildlife ranging from monkeys and honey badgers to baby rhinos and giraffes. This project is mainly infant care and rehabilitation.

babymonkey

babygiraffe

RhinoBaby

Limpopo Wildlife Vets— 8 Weeks  Mookgopong

On this project I will help with the capturing and relocating of different species of wildlife which is crucial for wildlife conservation and management. On this project I will have the rare opportunity to work with wild (and yes mom and dad: SEDATED) animals…….well most of them sedated anyways :).  I am pretty excited for this project because I am really passionate about Rhino Conservation and having the opportunity to play a small role in that would be incredible. On this project we have a base camp where we live in large tents but on capture missions we stay wherever is convenient (or not convenient) so hopefully I will get good use out of my sleeping bag.

gamecapture

gamecapture1

gamecapture2

phola

phola1

phola2

So there it is! My 12 weeks of Africa in a nutshell. I’m so excited to get there already and start working.

I will be sure to keep this blog updated as much as possible with pictures and stories. Thank you for your prayers, support and encouragement. And of course, thank you for reading my blog!

MapOfSouthAfrica

Soon to be in the wild,

B.EAST 

5 thoughts on “Four Weeks and Two Days

  1. I’m so excited for you. We will miss you but know the WILD needs you. Learn a ton….save all can and have fun!

  2. Wow! How exciting & wonderful! What an amazing experience this will most certainly be. Enjoy, be safe, learn lots, take many pics & write everything down!

  3. Sooo excited to get to enjoy your African Wildlife conservation experience with you thru your blog! This is truly an experience of a lifetime & will give you a wealth of knowledge and memories to last forever…savor each moment! Love ya, Elayne

Leave a Reply

