Packing.Preparing.Panicked

ONE WEEK. 

airplane

In one week I will be leaving on a plane for South Africa for three months. WHAT?! Needless to say my excitement has turned into nervousness. What if I forget something? What if I get homesick? When I get back, all of my friends will be moving on to new adventures in different cities! Ah, all these last minute things running through my mind and i’m just trying to be calm amongst the chaos.

So I am writing this update today because the rest of my week is SUPER busy, last day of work, COM group hangouts, Bachelorette parties, hiking enchanted rock, GRADUATION, and Yagas! It’s going to be a super exciting last week in the US of A! I get to see all of my family and friends and hangout with them before I leave. And I get to watch my twin sister walk at graduation. (I’m not walking because it would be Saturday and that would be a dreadful way to spend my last day in the US….and AINT NOBODY GOT TIME FOR THAT)

 So updates: My flight plans have already changed, like at least 10 times so that makes me nervous too. I will now be flying from Intercontinental to Amsterdam, where I have a four hour layover and then from Amsterdam to Johannesburg. I am arriving a day early so I get to stay in a cool little guest house that looks super cozy + internet ! WOOOO

I just got all my last vaccinations, prescriptions and all the rest of that important stuff. Now I’m just waiting for my Mom to get back in town so that she can help me pack. (Who says you’re too old to have your Mom help you pack?)

plank

So before I leave, I just want to thank everyone who has been a part of my college journey. From FLiP to Fish Camp to my coworkers, church members and family. Thank you for helping make me a better person these past four years and giving me the courage to take this leap of faith and travel 8964.7 Miles away from home. I will be missing a great friends wedding and for the first time in 21 years my twin sisters birthday. Thank you for understanding what this trip means to me, and for supporting my decision to go even though I will be missing an important day in both your lives. To all my friends graduating, CONGRATS. I wish you the best of luck in your future, wherever your degrees may take you. I hope that one day you will trust me to take care of the animals your future family acquires 😉

To Kendall and the Sumners family: Kendall, my sweet little pink haired inspiration. Thank you for reminding me of what it means to have courage and faith even when life is tough and full of hardships. I see a little of my reckless spirit in you and it makes me smile just thinking about it. The Sumners, I admire your bravery, perserverance but mostly your love. Most families would fall apart if faced with the hardships you face everyday, but you don’t and you even make time to smile, laugh and bring joy to those around you. Thank you for allowing me to be a part of your family these past 6 months and while I am gone you better believe I will be praying for you everyday. I pray that Kendall gets her lungs and liver and the next time I see her she will be RUNNING into my arms to greet me. What a beautiful sight. I will miss you all so much while I am gone. I love you!

kendall

Kendal

To my wonderful friends, I love you! Thank you for my surprise birthday // Africa party. I truly have the greatest friends in the whole world.

Africaparty

One week, 

Beast

PS: I hope you guys who don’t actually like to read the blog enjoy the pictures. You know who you are 😉

 

2 thoughts on “Packing.Preparing.Panicked

  1. For the next three months, Africa is the luckiest continent in the world. In so excited to live vicariously through your words AND your pictures!

  2. You are going to be fabulous! You have such a spirit of true devotion in everything you do, and those BIG animals will be putty in your hands. We will be praying for you each day. Live it, B! We’re so proud of you.

Leave a Reply

